Brooke Babineau

 

 

                          

 

 

Posted Reviews

 

 

   Readers' Reviews:

 Press Reviews:

 

 

 

Key West Readers:

 

Wow!  What a great read. 

Charlie Warner

I live on a sailboat moored in Key West waters, and I motored through Below Mile Zero in a week. And what a week!  What was the hero's name, did we ever know it, did anyone speak it?  And when's the sequel coming out? 

 

Intriguing Plot!

Kim Cragin

Full of suspense, which leaves you thinking for days after finishing. Loved the Key West setting...I could picture in my mind the action scenes as they unfolded.

 

Great Book!

Caleb (Key West sailor)

'Couldn't put it down!  'Was late for work 'cause I had to finish it.  Then I lent the book to my friend, and I can't wait to get it back, so I can read it again.

 

*          *          *

 

ONLINE:

   
Average Customer Review
     (12 customer reviews)
 
 
Most Helpful Customer Reviews

 
 
Key West Thriller is a Great Read!, June 14, 2008
 
By  Stevbgud "stevbgud" (Key West) -
I am fortunate to have read this Key West thriller. Below Mile Zero has an incredibly accurate sense of place, beyond the bars of Duval Street, and gives you an idea of the complexity of Key West. The characters are real, and you learn to care enough about them, the ones you love as well as the ones you hate, that you have to know what becomes of them. The plot twists and turns, taking you along with it, and you will not want to miss any of it. You could never have guessed how it ends. The book is beautifully written, truly a work of literature. Below Mile Zero is well worth your time and effort. You will not regret spending your time seeing what could be going on in the Key West you don't normally see.

 

   On the set, November 4, 2013

By 
 

This review is from: Below Mile Zero (Kindle Edition)

I did enjoy this book. Being a Key West resident I had the feeling that I was living "on the set". A great action adventure. Good job Brooke.

 

   Surprised I hadn't heard about this book before......, November 2, 2013

 

 

Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Below Mile Zero (Kindle Edition)
This was a really fun book. My interest remained at the peak all through this story. Nice writing style, terrific twists and turns, nicely developed characters and a sobering ending. Minor plot adjustments could have improved the story line but those were rare and minor. Can't wait for a sequel.
 

   Overcoming negatives, October 1, 2013

 

This review is from: Below Mile Zero (Paperback)

I was glad to see only one critical review and they sound like they got up on the wrong side of the bed. In other words nothing would have pleased them. If you're going to call someone's writing on the carpet then you'd better make sure your critique is correctly written. Babineau is writing about a time and place most of us will never see. That's no different than the many books you read in school that have no bearing on your existence but do force you to think.

 

A Tropical Must!   September 25, 2013

By Amy

Format: Paperback

After leaving New Orleans for safer and quieter territory he brings a hurricane of trouble with him. This is great read! Looking forward to Brooke's next novel.

 

  Great book  September 24, 2013

By kenneth Michaels

Format: Paperback

A friend recommended this book shortly after I had moved here from Chicago. I didn't know much about Key West but the characters were mesmerizing and there were too many nights I read late into the night. It's filled with action, adventure, and plot twists that keep you guessing all the way through. An added bonus what that I was oriented to some of the famous landmarks of Key West so that when I came discovered them I felt I had been personally introduced to them. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes an action packed thriller that uses Key West as a colorful backdrop.

 

  Below Mile Zero - A Hot Read   September 21, 2013  

By 
 
 
This review is from: Below Mile Zero (Kindle Edition)
Key West fans will love this book. Sizzling with plot twists and cool characters, it will make you want to fix yourself a margarita, grab a hat, and settle back in your beach chair. If you haven't visited Key West yet, no worries, once you finish this book you'll feel like you have. It's a perfect vacation read.

 

Island Action June 30, 2012

By 
 

This review is from: Below Mile Zero (Paperback)

Key West is an end-of-the-road town and the reluctant hero in "Below Mile Zero" considered the island to be a safer clime than New Orleans. Or so he thought until the bullets started flying. Caught between bad guys, this drifter with no place left to drift must fight back, deal with betrayal, and come to terms with his past ... or wake up dead. Brooke Babineau concocts a mean, fast-paced story that takes the reader for an island tour while keeping the adrenaline on high.
 

 

   Below Mile Zero riveting!, September 20, 2013

By 
Peg Gregory (WEST PALM BEACH, FL, US) - See all my reviews
 

This review is from: Below Mile Zero (Kindle Edition)

Below Mile Zero by Brooke Babineau is one of the best debut novels I've ever read. Babineau's protagonist is never named, which is intriguing in itself. This poor guy fled to Key West at the end of the road, from New Orleans, thinking his troubles were behind him and he'd be safe. Was his thinking ever wrong! The bullets started flying and never stopped until the book ended. One keeps thinking he couldn't get into any more trouble than he was already in, but there's always more waiting around the next corner. Guaranteed to keep the reader up all night. I hope to see this on the big screen one day, as it's made for a major movie!

 

WOW!, June 2, 2012

 

Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Below Mile Zero, A novel of Key West (Kindle Edition)
What a great book and so well written, it reads like a good movie plays! I want more from this author!

 

Outstanding!!!, April 18, 2012

 

This review is from: Below Mile Zero, A novel of Key West (Kindle Edition)

I'm not much of a fictional novel reader, I tend to stick to light magazines with pretty pictures. What can I say, I'm a simple soul. Below Mile Zero however, pulled me in and I couldn't put the book down.

Without giving to much away, the story is told through the eyes of a drifter that can't seem to straighten out his life. He keeps finding himself in situations that threaten his freedom and the breath in his lungs. You follow the main character from his time in New Orleans to him washing ashore in Key West. Throughout the story you'll read about real life places on the rock and you can't help but put yourself in the same situation.

I recommend this book to anyone looking to be entertained. It's intriguing to see a different, more local and darker side to our favorite southernmost island. We think of Key West as a rum soaked, happy-go-luck, anything goes type of place, but when you add drugs, sinister characters and double-crosses, even the most beautiful places can be turned into a war ground.

 

  Below Mile Zero, January 21, 2009

By 
 

 

This review is from: Below Mile Zero (Paperback)

I have lived in Key West for over 11 years and thought I knew the town pretty well. Below Mile Zero was more than an engaging story set in this eclectic town, at the end of the road. It was a wild ride through the neighborhoods and over the waters as the protagonist gives us his first-hand account of people, places and events that happened behind the scenes of Duval Street, throughout New Town and Stock Island. The first-person narrative allows the reader to become the character, and I found myself questioning what I would do, what were my values and how much of this really happened, knowing some of the local legend and folk lore? The quotes from literary greats throughout the book give one pause to reflect on the common thread of life that makes sense (or nonsense ) of it all. And, for you dog lovers...well you are in for a treat and will recall why they are called "Man's Best Friend". This is a great read!

 

*    *    *

 
Fred Strolle
Marketing and Communications Consultant

I recently read Brooke's novel "Mile Below Zero" and have to agree with the writeup on Amazon: "Betrayal, revenge, espionage, and nonstop action". Brooke manages to weave criminals, corrupt government officials, harrowing Viet Nam experiences and the mysteries of Key West as only a "local" would know them.

Great novel by an author who hopefully is working on many more...more

 

 

*    *    *

 

 

Barnes & Noble

Customer Reviews

Number of Reviews: 4
Average Rating: Customer Rating for this product is 5 out of 5
 

Below Mile Zero blew me away!

A reviewer
Anonymous, 06/09/2008

Posted May 13, 2010, 1:03 AM EST: You kept me up all night for two solid nights after I really got into BMZ! Oh, my god, what those guys went through. Like I told some friends, after a while, you forget it isn't real! And, poor Tony, after all they went through, not to make it. Geez, Brooke, you had me almost bawling about that! I fell in love with Sarge - and I am deathly afraid of Rotweillers! What a blockbuster of a movie that is going to be if you can get it sold. Talk about wall to wall action. One can barely take a breath from one crisis to the next. You have me wondering just how much is fiction and how much is a little more than just fiction, but I won't ask. I will prize this book! Please keep trying to get it sold as a movie, Brooke. I'm serious. What a show that would be on the big screen.

 

I thoroughly enjoyed this adventure set in the Florida Keys. Bab

I thoroughly enjoyed this adventure set in the Florida Keys. Babineau weaves a spell of danger, betrayal, and adventure in Paradise. A terrific read!

 

A GREAT STORY WITH A DOG HERO
  Reader Rating,

Posted June 16, 2008, 5:47 PM EST: Would you like to read an interesting, exciting story, written in a beautiful style, by a new author? my answer was 'yes', and I read 'below mile zero' by Brooke Babineau. This story kept my interest as i plunged ahead to the next chapter. The novel introductions to each chapter were a tour through great literature. This author's style reminded me works that I read by Scott Turow and John Grisham. Another super plus for me was the dog 'Sarge' who became my sentimental favorite character in the story.

Also recommended: PRESUMED INNOCENT-SCOTT TUROW, DISCLOSURE-JOHN GRISHAM

 

A reviewer

Reader Rating
 

Posted June 9, 2008, 11:29 PM EST: This is, without a doubt, the most exhilarating and insightful novel of suspense and intrigue I have read. It's like a combination of Nelson DeMille, John Steinbeck , John Grisham and Ernest Hemingway.  When I started I found the book charming, heartbreakingly funny, and so introspective that I quickly became completely immersed. That was just the setup for a thrilling ride that rattled my cage to the point where I didn't want to go to sleep, craving the next turn of the screw, but had to force myself to put the book down, so I could make the story last and savor each delectable, poignant, nerve-shredding moment. I've never before been so deeply inside the skin of a protagonist as in Below Mile Zero, and I never did discover his name. I'm going to give myself a couple of weeks then jump into it again...the only time I've read the same book more than once was Pat Conroy's Prince of Tides.

Also recommended: Lion's game, Plum Island, General's Daughter-Nelson DeMille. Prince of Tides-Pat Conroy. The Firm, Runaway Jury, Rainmaker-John Grisham, Tortilla Flats, Cannery Row-John Steinbeck. Hunt for Red October, Patriot Games-Tom Clancy

 

*    *    *

Buy.Com

 

 Brilliant! 12/28/2008

Villains you love to hate, a hero you can imagine being, set in the paradise island of Key West, intrigue, a great dog, thrills, real drama, believable drama...this one's got it all. Not one of those cheesy almost-200 pagers with large margins and small words; this guy knows how to write, and he does it well. Talk about pushing all the buttons. Warning! once you start you won't want to put it down, and at 400-plus pages forget about television.
Charlie from Chicago, Ill

 

 Excellent 9/1/2008

Thrilling... I am in awe of Brooke Babineau; he has defined a new standard of excellence in writing with Below Mile Zero. On the surface this was a thrilling suspenseful adventure about the bad old days of Key West smuggling. However, what emerges is a deeper understanding into the human psyche and an amazing series of insights into terror and how we cope with events beyond our experience or understanding. I won't give away any of the details, because you will want to savor each delicious turn of the screw for yourself. A friend, who'd read Below Mile Zero, suggested I visit the publisher's web site where the whole beginning of the novel is posted. Beware! Once I started I had to own a copy of my own. Can't wait for the sequel or the movie.
B. Clooney from Middle Village, NY

 

*    *    *

bookfinder4u.com


Customer Rating for this product is 5 out of 5 The Best I've ever read!!! Rated by Lee [From USA - 8/11/2008]


The finest novel I have ever had the privilege of reading. Twists and turns and a plot that leaves one hanging; Mr. Babineau has created in Below Mile Zero, a device to torture we constant readers and to deprive us of our sleep, by crafting a story that compels one to keep the light on well after hours. I cannot wait for the next. Bravo, Brooke Babineau, Bravo! Does one dare hope a feature film may be forthcoming?

 

Brilliant and terrifying!!!       Rated by Nancy G.   [From USA  - 8/27/2008] Until Below Mile Zero I thought Key West, Florida a charming little tourist place, like Disneyland with palm trees; this shows a darker more suspenseful reality than one would ever guess. The author kept me up night after night compelling me to turn the next page, devouring chapter after chapter, tantalizing my mind with exceptional characters and such a stunningly elegant use of the English language that I was put in mind of the best efforts of Grisham, Conroy, Steinbeck, and the like. The intimated sequel is a delicious torture.

  

*    *    *

 

alibris.com

 

Customer rating:               5 out of 5

 

Wow!!!, August 30, 2008
By Mary332, Los Angeles, CA
 

"I have never been so thoroughly entertained before. Brooke Babineau's, Below Mile Zero took me behind the lush tropical scenery of Key West. The protagonist, whose name I never did learn, was one of the most intriguing characters I've ever experienced; his insights and honesty were so engaging, along with a thrilling roller-coaster ride of a story, that I couldn't bear to put the book down. For a suspense/mystery novel this had moments of sheer hilarity contrasted with nail-biting terror. One of the funniest, scariest, saddest, and most exhilarating reads I've ever experienced. One hopes the intimated sequel will be forthcoming. I can imagine Brad Pitt as the hero when this is made into a movie."
 

Holy shit! (heck if you are shy) I never saw the byways and waterways of my Key West home quite like Babineau does in Below Mile Zero, thank all the gods and goddesses. It's too much excitement! And if there's not a sequel (I'm in love with the hero), I may have to kill someone.
C.S. Gilbert. poet
 

 

Itrackmine.com

 

Customer rating:   5 out of 5

1/22/2009

I have lived in Key West for over 11 years and thought I knew the town pretty well. Below Mile Zero was more than an engaging story set in this eclectic town, at the end of the road. It was a wild ride through the neighborhoods and over the waters as the protagonist gives us his first-hand account of people, places and events that happened behind the scenes of Duval Street, throughout New Town and Stock Island. The first-person narrative allows the reader to become the character, and I found myself questioning what I would do, what were my values and how much of this really happened, knowing some of the local legend and folk lore? The quotes from literary greats throughout the book give one pause to reflect on the common thread of life that makes sense (or nonsense ) of it all. And, for you dog lovers...well you are in for a treat and will recall why they are called "Man's Best Friend". This is a great read!

June C.

  

*    *    *

 

 

   "Exceptional and Insightful" by Finewines (see profile) 03/04/09

This book touched me deeply. So skillfully was this written that I lost all sense of myself as the reader and felt as if I was the protagonist, as the words seemed to vanish while the images unspooled in my mind like a wonderful movie. Once in a great while does one come across a magical work of fiction; this is one of the finest examples of the art of writing.

 

*    *    *

 

Brianna Wilcox

09 December
first to review
exceptional...

When my boyfriend started reading this book, I felt jealous. He spent all his free time reading, so I took it. I'm not really a fan of thrillers but I was curious, and I quickly discovered that Below Mile Zero is much much more than another potboiler. Once started, I had to turn page after page, and the idea of returning it unfinished didn't appeal to me, so I bought a copy for myself. This might sound a little nutty, but I'm planning on reading it again, at least once.

 

*    *    *

 

goodreads

 

Jubalation
I've never bothered with writing a review before, but this book really needs to be discovered.

I found a copy in a shop on the Key West waterfront. For that I am grateful because I might never have discovered it otherwise. The author, Brooke Babineau, I learned is the real deal. A real Key West author who's been there and done that, his life sounds like an adventure novel but he seems to shy away from publicity. I've heard a few rumors that more than most people would realize in this book really...more
 
 
Brandon
I learned how lucky I have been. This was an amazing read that took me into a world of suspense and intrigue, and taught me so much about what life can serve up when we least expect it. A wonderfully written story with a great canine character that I immediately loved. What an imagination!
 
 
Corey
Nov 08, 2011 Corey marked it as to-read

 

 

 

*          *          *

 

Press:

 

 

[The following reviewer, Shirrel Rhoades, is former Fiction Editor with The Saturday Evening Post and Executive Vice President/Publisher at Marvel Entertainment (Marvel Comics)]